Getting Bogged Down? Change things up…

I ran into a situation over the last few days where I’ve been having trouble implementing some functionality. It’s a fairly complex story I’m trying to complete (we use a modified Scrum process) and I’ve been banging my head against it. It got to the point where I’ve been a bit put off with it but at the end of the day it has to get done.

So today I decided to change my plan a bit. I grabbed a bunch of other smaller stories that are on the board and started on them. I was able to knock off quite a few of them and it improved my mood a lot. Now I feel that I’m ready to go back to the first story and get it completed.

I’ve done this before when I find myself getting bogged down. Taking a break and trying something different is always a good mood improver. And usually I find that when I go back to the original task my perspective has changed enough that I can find a good solution easier then if I had kept at it. Just make sure you give yourself enough time to complete the original task.

Getting Bogged Down? Change things up…

Leave a Reply

