Defining YOUR design style

Design…

It’s a simple word really but for me personally this has been one of the hardest skills to implement. I’ve spent a lot of time over the last while learning from others. I’ve attended a course.. read code.. discussed with people and during all that time I’ve come to see how many different views there are. Design is a very personal skill. And your personal design beliefs are something you have to define over time. There comes a point when you have to stop saying “Well I heard about such and such..” or “So and so says this..” and decide what you believe. Then you need to start to express those beliefs as your own. I believe this is a very important step in being taken seriously as a designer. Of course your beliefs will change over time as you are exposed to new things. This isn’t a bad thing. If you ever find yourself working the exact same way you did 6 months ago then something is wrong. But at the same time you need to seriously consider each new thing you learn and decide for yourself where it fits.

I personally have started to define my own style. While what I believe is heavily based on Jean-Paul Boodhoo, Martin Fowler and various others it has become mine. When I have a discussion with someone, or when I recommend something it has to be done with my own personal beliefs. A large part of defining your own style is to take time to test out your beliefs. If you’re a believer in ORM then make sure you’ve worked with it. Spend a little bit of time writing your own mapping layer. I personally don’t think you can truly believe in something until you can explain and defend your belief in it. And the best way to do that is to have at least a bit of experience in the alternatives.

Defining YOUR design style

Leave a Reply

